Richmond West Schools Trust Richmond West Schools Trust Richmond West Schools Trust Richmond West Schools Trust

We are Richmond
West Schools Trust

John Wilkinson
John Wilkinson
Executive Headteacher/Chief Executive Officer, RWST


The Trust is led by the Executive Headteachers of Teddington School and Waldegrave School, who understand what it means to lead high achieving schools. As a Trust, we have the highest possible ambition for our schools and students. There is a strong focus on Teaching, Learning and Leadership and of shared expertise to ensure we are constantly striving for improvement. It is the Trust’s belief that every child deserves the best quality education. That is why we have made a commitment to our students and families that every one of our schools will be either Good or Outstanding by 2019. This will ensure we have achieved our aim of making sure all families in our local community can attend a great school of their choice.

Vision and Ethos

Each school in the Trust has its own distinct identity and ethos. They each have their own vision, values and mission statements. What unites us is a commitment to providing a disciplined, safe and structured school environment which nurture a strong culture of learning in our local community. We offer a broad, balanced and challenging curriculum with a strong focus on the acquisition of skills for learning, literacy, numeracy, social and cultural development, employment and citizenship. The Trust is founded on strong leadership from governors, senior leaders, middle leaders, teachers and students alike. By working together as four local schools we have a positive influence of the educational provision for our local area to ensure all local students are able to attend a good or better school of their choice.

Our Schools

Trustee Biographies

Jenn Johnson: Trustee

Jenn is a qualified barrister with experience in strategy development as both a consultant and at two different FTSE 100 companies. Jenn is the Chair of governors at Teddington School as well as Chair of the RWST Board of Trustees.

Adele Kimber: Trustee

Adele is a trustee of RWST and the Chair of Board’s Resources Committee. Adele has been a community governor of Teddington School since October 2013, Adele is an editor and communications specialist and has run business magazines and websites for several leading UK publishing companies.

Jo Merritt: Trustee

Jo has been a governor for nine years and is currently Chair of Governors at Stanley Primary School in Teddington. She has completed the National College “Chair of Governors National Leadership Development Programme”. Jo is a member and Chair of Richmond Admission Appeal panels, Richmond Independent Review Panel and Richmond Schools’ Forum.

Philippa Nunn: Executive Headteacher

Philippa has been Headteacher of Waldegrave School since 2006 and, previously, The Holt School in Berkshire. Philippa was appointed National Leader of Education in 2011. BSc hons UCL, MA, PGCE and NPQH.

Charis Penfold: Trustee

Charis worked in primary education for 22 years before joining the Local Authority (London Borough of Richmond) in 2007. She was a deputy headteacher in two schools, an acting headteacher and finally a primary headteacher in Kingston for seven years. She is Director of Children’s Services for Achieving for Children.

Mike Wilkinson: Trustee

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Morbi volutpat ante est, ac aliquet neque posuere quis. Integer cursus a sapien id elementum. Vivamus venenatis accumsan lacus eget elementum. In varius dolor ut purus placerat, non interdum orci rutrum.

Andrew Tanner: Trustee

Andrew became a governor of Waldegrave School in 2011. He assisted as the school moved to academy status and as it introduced a sixth form provision. He is supporting the school in its management of an ever-tightening budget. Andrew brings to the RWST his experience from working in the finance and banking sector.

John Wilkinson: Executive Headteacher/ Chief Executive Officer

John is Headteacher of Teddington School and Chief Executive Officer of RWST. John has been a headteacher since 2009 when he was appointed as Headteacher of The Elmgreen School in Lambeth, two years after it was founded as the first Parent Promoted School in England.

Bev Bell: Member

Bev Bell trained as a PE/Science teacher and taught in schools in Colchester, Plymouth and Greenford. She has held educational management and leadership roles at Heston CS and Hampton CC. She held headships at JKGTC and Crest Academies – (Brent) and Executive Headship roles at the Basildon Academies (Essex). She is an educational consultant and Director of Premiere Learning.

Julian Gravatt: Member

Julian Gravatt has been a parent governor at Teddington School where his two children are students. He was previously a parent governor at St Mary’s and St Peter’s School. Julian is co Deputy Chief Executives Association of Colleges in London, a national organisation for further education and sixth form college England.

Fran Perrow: Member

Fran has been a community governor at Waldegrave School since 2012 and Chair of the Children, Communities and Families sub-committee for the past three years. She is the designated governor for Safeguarding and Child Protection, Looked-After Children and the named governor for the School Governors' Discipline Committee.

Tracy Royle: Member

Tracy Royle is a mother of three girls, two of which are Waldegrave School students, in Years 7 and 9. The third is in Year 3 at a local primary school. Tracy has been a governor at Waldegrave School for two years, working on the CFC sub-committee. She has helped on PTA committees throughout her children’s education.

Andrew Whitehead: Member

Andrew has lived in Hampton for almost 30 years and is married and a grown-up daughter now living in Teddington. He is a qualified accountant (FCCA) and has served as a governor for seven years, first at Carlisle Infant School and then at the Carlisle & Hampton Hill Federation, and for much of that time he chaired the Finance Committees.

Andrea Arbiter: Clerk to the Board & Local Governing Bodies

Andrea has been a Clerk to a number of governing bodies of Richmond schools over the past seven years, supporting governors in their contributions to school improvement. Her role is to circulate papers, minutes and cascade other information on training or other matter relevant to the board.

Contact Us


Richmond West Schools Trust
c/o Waldegrave School
Fifth Cross Road
MiddlesexTW2 5LH


020 8893 3670